Home Spa Favorites

So, if you’ve been following my Insta Stories at all (I’m so obsessed, I love Stories!), then you know how much I love a great home spa night, and how important I think it is to make self care a priority. As a mom, wife, woman and human, it’s so important that we take some time every day, if possible, or as often as we can, to breathe and find some solace or a way to relax. Recharging is vital to not only our own physical and emotional health, but it really helps us to love our people better. I don’t know about you, but when I’ve taken some time to breathe and recharge and pamper myself a little, I’m more fun for Nora and more amorous for Shawn. True story.

My daily “me time” happens after Shawn gets home from work and before we put Nora to bed. It’s very simple; I take a shower! (I’m just not a bath person.) I always have fresh baby blue eucalyptus hanging from the shower head. The steam really brings out the delicious aroma of the eucalyptus, making it feel so luxurious and relaxing. I also always have a candle lit (currently using this one that smells like Anthro) and my favorite essential oils ready to dab on when I step out of the shower. Setting the stage for a great home spa is just as important as the products you use!

If I had to choose ten things or less to build a starter home spa, I would include:

  • fresh eucalyptus
  • candles
  • essential oils
  • facial masques
  • nail polish
  • moisturizers/lotions/body butters
  • body oils
  • body mists
  • facial/body scrubs
  • a lovely glass of wine

I wanted to share my very favorites from the above categories and hopefully inspire you to treat yourself to some well deserved pampering. 

 

These are the products I make a point to always have on hand. Body butter is Gold & Clover Face and Body Tallow, facial aromatherapeutic oil is Acure Organics Citrus Ginger Moroccan Argan Oil, essential oils are Aura Cacia Chill Pill and Tasmanian Lavender, and Lotus Wei Inner Peace Anointing Oil, ELF Lip Exfoliator, KALOS Triple Threat Detox Masque, and Origins Ginger Essence Sensuous Skin Mist.

I don’t always have time for a nice, long, luxurious shower every evening because life happens. Sometimes we need to run errands when Shawn gets home, or I use that block of time to prepare a more intricate meal. But I always have these products (or something very similar) sitting out where I can see them and use them, even after just a quick five minute shower. Every little bit helps!

Next, I’d like to talk about nail polish. I go through (short) seasons where I love having bare nails; typically during the summer. But there is nothing like a great mani/pedi, am I right? The thing is, a great mani/pedi costs money if you go to a professional, and sometimes there just isn’t room in the budget for that. So the solution? DIY! Now, I’m no mani/pedi expert. In fact, my idea of a home pedicure includes using a pumice stone in the shower, and then simply painting my toenails. The same goes for a home manicure, minus the pumice stone. But in my opinion, a great nail polish goes a long way in making me feel a little extra feminine and pampered.

                                                From Left to Right: Smokin' Hot, Forever Yummy, Topless & Barefoot, Bordeaux, Wicked

                                                From Left to Right: Smokin’ Hot, Forever Yummy, Topless & Barefoot, Bordeaux, Wicked

                      This is what happens when you don't include your toddler in a photoshoot. She finds a way to get involved somehow!

                      This is what happens when you don’t include your toddler in a photoshoot. She finds a way to get involved somehow!

So, clearly I’m an Essie girl. I love the quality of their polishes as well as the HUGE variety of colors they offer! My favorite for fall is Wicked, and I switch to Bordeaux or Forever Yummy around the holidays. I also really love Butter London nail polish. It’s a bit pricier than Essie, but definitely worth it, and you can buy it at Whole Foods! Always a bonus for me.

Lastly, and my very favorite part of a home spa night: facial masques! Nothing makes me feel more pampered and luxurious than slathering my face and neck with a great masque and sipping on a lovely glass of wine while my face soaks in the nutrients. ::sigh:: It’s so wonderful. I have a basket filled with various single use masques and I look forward to trying a new one each week! I typically save my masque nights for the weekend because it’s easier for me to soak in all the relaxation.

I pick up most of my single use masques from Target or Whole Foods. My favorite brands so far are Que Bella, Miss Spa, Shea Moisture, and Andalou Naturals. Obviously I love my KALOS Triple Threat Detox Masque as well, and I’m hoping to try some scrubs from Poppy & Pout soon!

Along with my basket full of masques, I keep a treasure trove of items from Birchbox that I’ve received in the past! Currently I don’t have a Birchbox subscription because it’s not in the budget, however, it is completely worth the cost (only $10/mo!) and I am so looking forward to being able to subscribe again. When you subscribe, they have you fill out a small personal profile in order to get a good sense of which beauty products you’d enjoy the most. They totally nail it! In fact, Birchbox is why I discovered KALOS in the first place!

Above are just a few examples of the great products I’ve received from Birchbox this year, including items from Dr. Hauschka, Real Chemistry, Tocca, Kiehl’s, and so much more! The only product in the above photo that is not from Birchbox is the EO Body Oil in Good Love. Shawn and I picked that up from Whole Foods and it’s amazing for massages, or just rubbing on your arms and legs when you get out of the shower. I even like to put it on my face in lieu of moisturizer most of the time!

I hope this post has helped you find some ideas or inspiration for your very own home spa night, and I really hope you take the time for self care and make it a priority! You deserve it. If you have any questions, feel free to email me through the Connect Page or leave a comment below! Happy Pampering!

Leave a Reply

