A Hearty Vegetable Stoup

Hello all!

I’m way under the weather with a nasty cold today and nothing sounds better than a nice piping hot soup when I’m battling a headache, stuffy nose, and body aches. One of my favorite soups to make is this hearty vegetable soup, which my husband and I have decided to call a “stoup”, since I prefer the consistency of my soup to be thicker, like a stew.

The ingredients are simple and nutritious, and there’s room to play if you feel like adding or subtracting any ingredients. I always double the batch and put the leftovers in the freezer for a night when I’m not up to cooking, but don’t want to sacrifice a healthy meal. This recipe is adapted from Cooking Classy.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

 

Ingredients:

  • olive oil
  • peeled and chopped carrots
  • chopped celery (i like to keep the leafy green stalk tops included)
  • minced garlic
  • chicken or vegetable broth
  • 2 (14.5 oz) cans diced tomatoes (undrained)
  • cubed Russet potatoes
  • parsley
  • 2 bay leaves
  • thyme
  • salt and pepper
  • chopped fresh green beans
  • chopped onion (optional)
  • ground beef, turkey or chicken (optional)

*You’ll notice I have very few measurements listed here. I much prefer to eyeball everything. I make this soup in a large, two handle pot, and I fill it to the brim. Fresh tomatoes can be substituted for canned, just make sure you get all the juicy goodness in there. Onions are also commonly added to this soup, but Shawn isn’t an onion fan, so I just add some onion powder into the mix. You can use either dried or fresh herbs for this soup, just remember that if you use dried herbs, you don’t need to use as much as if you use fresh. I added ground beef and ground chicken to our stoup because we wanted a little more umph from our meal. And we were super hungry.

Directions:

If using ground beef, brown it in a pan and season it however you like (I use s&p and ground sage) and then set aside until it’s time to add it to your stoup.

Heat the olive oil in a large pot over medium heat. Add the carrots and celery and saute 3 – 4 minutes. Add the garlic and saute for about 30 seconds longer. Pour in the broth (again, I eyeball this, so add as much or little broth as you’d like based on your consistency preference) and add the tomatoes, potatoes, parsley, bay leaves, thyme and season with salt and pepper to taste. Bring to a boil, then add green beans, reduce heat to medium-low, cover and simmer until potatoes are tender, about 20 – 30 minutes. If adding meat, put it in now and let it simmer for about another 5 minutes. Serve warm and bon appetit!

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

 

One thought on “A Hearty Vegetable Stoup

Leave a Reply

