The Eeyore Complex

eeyoreI woke up this morning in a complete and total stinky attitude funk. My Christmas night migraine had carried over into the morning, the incessant toothache that’s been ailing me this week was throbbing and I was just in an overall grumpy mood. I was dwelling in the Eeyore Complex. I’m sure we all know of Eeyore, a beloved, yet famously negative character in the Winnie the Pooh series. Eeyore is known for his hang my head, woe is me outlook on life.

Honestly, I’ve been feeling just slightly down this week, really missing my friends back in OKC and just feeling lonely and adrift. I let that Eeyore Complex seep into my heart, little by little, more each day until this morning when I literally growled getting out of bed and seriously considered slithering down the stairs on my stomach in a dramatic display of ennui. I drug my feet into the kitchen and put the kettle on the stove to make some tea.

As I grabbed my favorite mug from the cabinet, I received a text from a friend asking me what I wanted for my birthday. I explained to her that Shawn and I have decided this year to give up our birthdays as a campaign to raise money for charity:water, in hopes of completely funding a well. As I answered her questions about the campaign, I noticed my self inflicted burden began to feel a little lighter.

Processed with VSCOcam with 7 presetI went to take a sip of tea out of my beautiful handmade Lago mug from Story Company, and remembered the initials on the bottom of the mug. They belong to the amazing persons who worked specifically on the mug in my hands. The money used to purchase this mug  aided in those amazing persons being able to live a life of freedom from slave labor and to be able to spend their days creating and using their gifts and passions to earn fair wages and make a home for their families. My ennui began to fade.

I decided to visit one of my favorite blogs, Chasing Big Dreams, by Carrie McQuaid and stumbled on this post of hers from earlier this year. If you notice, all three of her tips for happiness include living for more than just ourselves. As her words burrowed into my heart, I thought about how my down in the dumps attitude had dwindled the more I focused on things and people outside of myself. Our charity:water campaign, the sweet souls that crafted my mug with their whole hearts, and so on.

We were born selfish, but we weren’t meant to function that way. We were born into sin, but not meant to dwell in it. It’s amazing how kindness, generosity of spirit and focusing on others will shatter an Eeyore Complex every single time.

Jesus told us the two greatest commandments are to love Him and love our neighbor (Luke 10). We were made for exactly this. I encourage you (and myself) to practice living for others, not existing for ourselves. You will experience fulfillment, purpose and joy unmatched.Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I sure do love you all. I wish you the Merriest (the day after) Christmas.

Leave a Reply

