Loving Lately

I thought as a nice way to break up my sometimes heavier posts, I’d start incorporating a thread called “Loving Lately”. These posts will be much more lighthearted and fun, as I’ll name a handful of things I’ve just been crazy about over the last few weeks or month, depending on how often I decide to post. This is by no means an original idea. I’m sure a lot of you are familiar with High Five for Friday on the Lauren Elizabeth blog, or Friday Favorites that Lysa TerKeurst sometimes shares on her blog. I just thought it would be a fun way to share a bit of the things I am really enjoying and maybe they will be things that some of you learn to love as well.

I actually adapted the title “Loving Lately” from a recent post I read on Jen Hatmaker’s blog. Wouldn’t you know it, that is the perfect segway into my first point.

JEN FREAKING HATMAKER.

I love this woman, truly, I do.books If you haven’t at least taken a peek at Jen’s blog, I beseech you, do it now! And then buy her books. All of them. I have never in my life been so challenged in my purpose while simultaneously cracking a rib from laughing so hard. I love Jen’s writing and I so admire her confidence and spirit. She is bold, witty and unapologetic about truth and love. I am telling you, you will love her. Now, go start reading 7 so we can chat about it!

Moorea Seal

scarf and bagSurely I don’t have to tell you how much I enjoy shopping. Be it groceries, clothes, gifts, whathaveyou. I love it all. Lately I’ve felt the Holy Spirit (and Jen Hatmaker) really challenge me in my heart to be more aware of my shopping. My whole life, I’ve always shopped with the mindset of benefiting myself. I mean, isn’t that sort of the whole point of it? As it turns out, no. I wasn’t purposing to be “sinful” or “selfish” in that, I was just a little ignorant. Guys, there are SO MANY wonderful organizations that offer shopping to benefit more than just me. I have discovered some gems recently. Noonday Collection, Story Company, Better Life Bags and Scoutmob to name a few. These online boutiques feature some lovely products that promote fair trade, pour money back into local communities, provide fair jobs and wages for skilled artisans who wouldn’t otherwise have the opportunity to support their families and so on. But my favorite as of late has been Moorea Seal. She is based in Seattle, so she has my Pacific Northwest hook, and 7% of all proceeds from the store benefit five non-profit causes, such as caring for animals, children’s needs, protecting our planet, health and wellness and women’s causes. I really appreciate the opportunity these organizations and shops give me to pour into the lives of others and divert my focus from myself. Plus, the items are high quality, and most of them handmade. I mean look at that adorable campfire scarf from Moorea Seal. (I definitely asked for it for Christmas.) I’m jonesing. Also, that bag.

-Tim’s Cascade

tims

::sigh:: I am ashamed at how many bags of Tim’s Cascade chips have been devoured in our home over the course of the last three weeks. I discovered Tim’s when we moved here and have already agreed to give up my firstborn in exchange for a lifetime supply. These chips aren’t clean, they’re not organic, they’re not likely benefiting my body or my health in any way. They are, however, crunchy, salty and sinfully delicious. THESE CHIPS ARE MY CRYSTAL BLUE. Gah, I just can’t even. Brace yourself, my Iowa and Illinois kin, Tim’s Cascade are better than Sterzings. There. I said it. I have no regrets. Original, Sea Salt, Jalapeno, Salt and Vinegar. I love this cast of players. Come to me, my precious…

Benefit Fakeup

fakeupWhat does it say about me that my favorite make up is concealer…? I won’t dwell on that. Anyhow, typically I use CoverGirl’s Fresh Complexion Under Eye Concealer to cover dark circles and brighten up my eyes. I really like it. But because it is liquid concealer, it often dries out my under eye. That stings, y’all. I don’t like it. A few months ago I discovered Benefit Fakeup and it changed my world. The sun shines brighter, the birds sing louder…it’s wonderful. This under eye concealer is hydrating! It soothes my burning under eye when I’ve been a little too generous with my liquid concealer. Because this product costs a bit more than I feel is necessary to spend on a vanity item, I consider it a treat and I don’t use it daily, only when I really need it. Truthfully, since it is a fancy pants brand, I do a little hey look I’m a cool kid happy dance when it comes in the mail.

-My front porch.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetIt’s been a little dream of mine for many years to someday have a darling home with a lovely front porch. Little did I know that when God was arranging details for our move to Oregon, He had this one on the list. I love our porch. It spans the entire front of the house and is the perfect size for the two of us. When we moved here, I immediately went out and bought pumpkins to adorn it with. I can see my whole street from the front porch. It’s a cozy spot to sit and enjoy the beautiful Bend autumn we’re having or enjoy some early morning tea with my love. I am so very grateful to the Lord for paying special attention to this little desire of my heart. It is so special to me.

Last but certainly not least…this fatty. Always.Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

So, there you have it! Just a few things I’ve really been digging lately. Maybe you’ll be inspired now to read some fantastic books, or shop with a little more purpose. If you do dabble, I sincerely hope you come to love these things as much as I do. I’d absolutely love to hear some things you all are just loving lately! Feel free to share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

