Blazing the Oregon Trail

Yes, the Oregon Trail. I had to. I just had to.

OHMYGOODNESSIHAVESOMUCHTOTELLYOUGUYS!

These last six weeks have been the longest six weeks, I can’t even tell you. Oh my goodness. I don’t really even know where to begin, so I will just dive in. Let me start by sharing some super exciting and amazing news with you. bend one

The McEntyres are moving to Oregon!

It’s true! I can hardly believe myself.

I am sure you will recall my post from back at the beginning of August, when I talked with you about my experience at Women of Faith and the very specific word that God gave me that weekend. Little did I know, as per usual, what God had literally just around the corner for Shawn and me.

I will spare you all the little details (for now), but basically, last month we found out about this incredible job opportunity that was seemingly opening up (and tailor made, might I add) just for Shawn. It had been the craziest little season of faith and waiting, and I have no issue telling you that I failed miserably for the most part. There was definitely a moment during this whole process when I looked at my husband through tears and hiccups and whined “I am all talk! I’m so full of it! I tell people on my blog that I trust God, but I really just suck at it!”.  It was not pretty.

But, we made it! Here we are, on the other side of that long, dark tunnel, knowing what our next step is. God has been so incredibly faithful through this journey. He has rained favor on us and weaved together all of the tiny details we’d hoped for in our hearts.

I know this is just the beginning. I know it’s only going to get crazier from here. But I am so excited! And terrified! And overwhelmed, because I have spent the last six weeks with all my planning just pent up and now I ACTUALLY HAVE TO PLAN SOMETHING AND I’M FREAKING OUT A LITTLE.

So, there’s that. It’s so big. I still can’t wrap my mind around it. I have been in Oklahoma for my entire life. I have never lived anywhere else, and now I am about to make a big girl move to the other side of the country. It’s going to be scary and so great.

bend threeSo now that I’ve rambled and word vomited all over the place, I suppose I should fill in some of the blanks.

Shawn has accepted a position with a company that is based in Bend, Oregon and we will be heading out west mid-October! While our hearts ache at the thought of leaving our dear friends and wonderful church family, we look forward to forming new relationships in this next season of our life. Plus, bonus, some of our other dear friends, (including my father in law! yay!) who live in Shawn’s home state of Washington, will only be about five hours away from us now!

And you guys, I can’t even begin to tell you (but I sure am going to try) how absolutely perfect the climate in Bend is. The promise of no more dreadful Oklahoma summers paired with a guaranteed white Christmas will definitely make the transition a tad easier.

I still just can’t even believe it, but it’s happening. And we are so humbled and honored that the Lord would give us this assignment, but that He most definitely has heard our prayers and pleas these last few years.

Ahhh! We’re moving to Oregon.

bend two

Leave a Reply

