From This Valley.

I’ve been reading a lot in Exodus over the past several weeks. The Israelites have escaped from a horrific slavery in Egypt and are now traveling throughout the desert in search of the Promised Land. Moses is having more personal encounters with God than he ever has in His relationship with the Lord.

When I say personal, I mean up close and personal. Moses is up on that mountain meeting with God on a consistent basis. He gets to experience that Presence in an intense way. I mean, so close.

Meanwhile, the Israelites are down in the valley and they are becoming restless. They don’t appreciate being instructed to stay down in that valley while Moses gets to meet one on one with God Almighty up on that mountain top. They begin to get bored and rebellious. They become disobedient and try to take matters into their own hands by creating a golden calf to worship instead of the One God who rescued them from their captors.

I’m currently walking through a definite valley season in my life right now. You can read more about that here. While I may have been a little lighthearted in that post, I have to tell you, this has not been easy. It has been very difficult being asked to wait down here in this dark valley, not knowing. My heart so desperately craves to be up on that mountain like Moses, more than I could possibly express.

But with every ounce of strength I have been given for this walk in the valley, I will use it to learn from the Israelites mistakes. I trust my sweet Lord.

There will be no hideous golden calf in attempt to further things along and “rescue myself”.

I will remain in this valley for as long as He asks me to, because He remains so good to me.

Recently, a band I am quite fond of, The Civil Wars, released a new album. As I was shuffling through the new tracks, I found this song that describes this season in my life so accurately, I’d almost think they were reading my mail.

Anyways, I have included the lyrics for you to browse, as well as a beautiful lyric video they have put together for the song.

Please enjoy, From This Valley.

Oh the desert dreams of a river
That will run down to the sea
Like my heart longs for an ocean
To wash down over me

Oh won’t you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above
Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love

Oh the outcast dreams of acceptance
Just to find pure love’s embrace
Like an orphan longs for its mother
May you hold me in your grace

Oh won’t you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above
Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love

Oh the caged bird dreams of a strong wind
That will flow beneath her wings
Like a voice longs for a melody
Oh Jesus, carry me

Oh won’t you take me from this valley
To that mountain high above
Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love

Oh I will pray, pray, pray till I see your smiling face
I will pray, pray, pray to the one that I love

Leave a Reply

