Not Wasted

I’m just going to come right out and say it. I have a new obsession as of late, with Kate Bryan and her darling blog.

She loves Jesus and cats, y’all. Now that’s a girl after my own heart.

If any of you follow her blog, I’m sure you’re thinking to yourself “Uhhmm, you’re about two years behind, Melissa. Get with it.” Yes, I am aware of that.

Anyhow, as I was perusing the archives of my newfound favorite, I stumbled on a post that really tugged at my heart.

I have briefly touched on the subject in previous posts of my own, how my heart is inclined towards creativity and the like. I walk through days that are absolutely draining on my soul because my job requires quite the opposite of creativity. (I must reiterate though, how incredibly grateful I am to have my job, and I fully trust that the Lord has a specific purpose for my time here.)

My husband is a creative soul as well, and I so love that God brought me someone who shares my creative passions and dreams.

It can be difficult to explain those dreams to a practical minded person. Often times, the pursuit of creative endeavors are viewed as reckless and lazy, rather than bold and adventurous. This is so unfortunate.

Back to the blog post I came across today.

In her post, Kate shares a quote that a friend shared with her and I just couldn’t take my eyes or heart off  it. It spoke to me and refreshed my soul in the moment I needed it the most and I absolutely cannot resist sharing it with you.

To those of you with creative passions and bold souls:

So we are, on a finite level, people who can create. Why does man have creativity?
Why can man think of so many things in his mind, and choose, and then bring
forth something that other people can taste, smell, feel, hear, and see?
Because man was created in the image of a Creator.  Man was created that he
might create.  It is not a waste of man’s time to be creative.  It is not
a waste to pursue artistic or scientific pursuits in creativity, because this is
what man was made to be able to do.  He was made in the image of a Creator, and
given the capacity to create- on a finite level of course, needing to use the
materials already created- but he is still the creature of the Creator.

The Hidden Art of Homemaking

Your dreams, our dreams, are not wasted.

One thought on “Not Wasted

Leave a Reply

