Vapors

Indeed, You have made my days as handbreadths, And my age is as nothing before You; Certainly every man at his best state is but vapor.  –Ps. 39:5

 

I was reminded of this verse today and it just exploded in my heart. I could go on and on about the fragility of life and how we must make the most of every moment (which is true) and make our days count…but I won’t. I’ve recently written a post about just that, only a few short months ago in April. (Feel free to glance at it for reference if you like!) Instead, I have decided to pin down a few goals I have for myself and my life over the course of the next year. I realize it’s not December and I needn’t be worrying about New Year’s Resolutions. And I’m not. These aren’t resolutions to cut out a bad habit, or implement better self discipline. While there is nothing wrong with that kind of resolve, it’s not quite what I’m aiming for these days. Rather, I want to soak up every juicy minute of this grand adventure I’ve been handed. It is after all, quite fleeting. So, I am beginning a list! I love a good list, and this is going to be a zinger. I am beyond excited to check off each point as I live my way through it. This is going to be fun. Join me, won’t you?

  • Learn to speak French.
  • Learn to play the piano.
  • Bestow a blessing that will take someone’s breath away.
  • Buy a camera and document the world.
  • Visit a new city and state!
  • Take a bartending course.
  • Go to the zoo (any zoo) and see the elephants (any elephants).
  • Finish reading The Beautiful and Damned.

Just a few for now. I know this list will grow, and I hope to be able to say the same for myself as it does.

One thought on “Vapors

Leave a Reply

