Make It Count

I (Jesus) came that they may have life, and have it more abundantly. –John 10:10

I recently celebrated my 25th birthday. As the big day approached, I couldn’t help but think back on the past 25 years of my young life. I learned and lost so much. Met so many people. Made so many wonderful and terrible decisions. After finding myself stuck in a place of replaying the poor choices relentlessly in my mind, I resolved to live these next 25 years to the max. I’m certain most of us at one time or another have come to that conclusion about our lives; that we don’t spend enough, we don’t see enough, we don’t do enough, we don’t get enough. But that’s not exactly what I’m referring to.

You see, I plan to live to be 100. So I figure, while I can’t change what’s in the past, I have three more shots at 25 years. Admittedly, I’d been ridiculously mopey the days leading up to my birthday. While some feelings of distress were legitimate (I always have a hard time on birthdays now that my mom has passed.), others were nothing more than me whining. “We don’t have enough money! I’m not skinny enough! We still live in an apartment and I want a house! What am I supposed to do or be? I feel like I’m wandering aimlessly!”

Rather than smacking me in the face, which is what I really deserved, the Lord graciously brought these revelations and more to my heart on the morning of my 25th birthday. My birthday fell on a Sunday this year, so my husband and I were at church. Our pastor has been in the heart of a Titanic themed sermon series for the month of April, honoring the 100th anniversary of the sunken ship. Shawn and I had also gone to a screening of the film, Titanic, the day before. It was clear the Lord had something to share with me that day, and He pulled it all together so flawlessly.

That morning, the sermon was about our purpose and strength found in Christ. Nothing is possible without God. (Philippians 4:13) I felt the Lord nudge my heart and I knew He was preparing me to hear something from Him. My pastor said something to wrap up the service that nearly knocked me on my feet. “There was something God wanted done that makes YOU necessary!”

All of the moping, feeling sorry for myself, complaining…was all shattered. The reality is that we do have enough money. Even if it’s just enough to cover our bills and buy groceries, that’s enough! Life isn’t about the vanity of being thin and beautiful, it’s about having a lovely heart. We do live in an apartment, for now. The Lord knows the desire we have to own a home. He’ll make it happen in His time. But at least we have a roof over our heads! And as for wandering aimlessly, I was aimless because I’d lost focus. I took my eyes off of God and all He has planned for me. I began to drown like Peter in the water because I focused more on myself and my fears than on the truth.

So these next 25 years…I will enjoy every day. I will be productive and creative. I will be a loving and supportive wife. I will be a rock for my friends and family. I will reach out to those who need a helping hand. I will open my home and my heart. I will laugh more. I will cry more. I will care less. I will go on adventures. I will fall flat on my face.  I will take care of my body. I will indulge in colors, foods, film, art, music and everything glorious and beautiful. I will teach my children about the love of Jesus. I will share that love with every person I come in contact with. I will live. And I urge you to do the same.

“I figure life’s a gift and I don’t intend on wasting it. You don’t know what hand you’re gonna get dealt next. You learn to take life as it comes at you… to make each day count.”

— Jack Dawson, Titanic


One thought on “Make It Count

Leave a Reply

