Prevailing Rhetoric.

Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to You, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer. Psalm 19:14

Cake pops are in the oven, y’all. Recipe and photos to come. But for now, onto other things.

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ll say it again. I love words. LOVE THEM. While words are the most basic form of communication, I personally think they are the most powerful form as well. Words can be so colorful and imaginative. Words can strengthen and encourage. Words can bless and exalt. Words can build covenant and life. Words can also destroy and aggravate. Words can discourage and tear apart trust. Words can without a doubt, change the world.

Several years ago, my father and one of my heroes, spoke a word over my life that I possessed the “Adam Anointing”. We all know Adam was the first human on this planet, and I happen to be the first born in my family. But this kindred anointing goes deeper than birth order. As my dad explained this revelation in more detail, he spoke to me that this anointing also includes calling things to order. And while we all have this authority in Christ, I knew in my heart as my dad shared, that this anointing is very specific to my life. When God brought animals onto the earth, He granted Adam the authority to call everything to order. Adam named everything. Everything.

The past few weeks the Lord has really brought the word of this anointing as well as the power of words themselves back to the forefront of my heart. Our words, and the things we call to order have so much more impact on not only our physical lives, but also on our spiritual lives, than we can even imagine. The Bible speaks about the power of our words multiple times throughout scripture.

Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. Joshua 1:8

Let the weak say, ‘I am strong!’ Joel 3:10b

Then the LORD reached out and touched my mouth and said, “Look, I have put my words in your mouth! Jeremiah 1:9

…you do not have because you do not ask God. James 4:2

(in fact, the entire chapter of James 3 discusses the power of the tongue/words)

Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. Ephesians 4:29

The LORD longs to be gracious to you; he rises to show you compassion… How gracious he will be when you cry for help! As soon as he hears, he will answer you. Isaiah 30:18-19

I especially love that last verse. It’s so clear that our words are not only impacting to those around us, but to God as well. Lately the Lord has been taking me to a whole new level of trust in Him by gently nudging me to outright ask Him for more, more often. I know in my heart that He is always faithful and that He is my provider, but He has reminded me that He still loves to be asked! The Lord loves so much to bless us with the desires He has placed in our hearts. He put them there for a reason, after all.

As a re-occurring theme threaded throughout my blournal entries, you all know I can’t end a post without mentioning the fascinating faithfulness of God. So of course, as He has been bringing this revelation to my heart these past few weeks, I show up to church on Sunday and what do you think my Pastor is preaching on? That’s right. Our words! He says “The Kingdom of God is voice activated.” Oh I love that so much!

So before you spout off at someone or open your mouth wide enough to fit Shaquille O’Neal’s shoe in, think about your words. The next time you feel led to encourage someone but are too shy, just do it! It will turn their whole day around, and probably yours as well. And most importantly, remember to TALK to God. Consistently. He loves to hear our voices, and He loves so much to be able to bless us when we approach Him boldly and ask.

I’m not the only one with the gift of gab. I just maybe practice a bit more.

Here is a link to my Pastor’s blog. This is the message He spoke this past Sunday, January 29th. It’s a great read, you won’t regret it!

2 thoughts on “Prevailing Rhetoric.

Leave a Reply

