The Merriest Christmas

“There is no Christianity without the incarnation.” — D.A. Carson

For unto us a child is born; unto us a son is given, and the government shall be upon His shoulder, and His Name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, The Almighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. –Isaiah 9:6

It is 7:00 on Christmas morning and I am WIDE AWAKE. I realize that for most of America, this is perfectly normal. In fact, it’s to be expected. And in Christmases past, I wouldn’t be surprised by my early rising. But this morning is different. This Christmas is my very first Christmas away from home. I miss my dad and my siblings terribly this morning. But, there is a pretty even trade off this year. You see, the reason I’m not spending this Christmas with my family is because I get to spend it with my brand new HUSBAND and his family! It’s so grown up to go away with your husband to spend Christmas with your in laws, you know? Especially when they live 2,000 miles away from home. It’s terrifying and wonderful all at the same time. While it’s difficult to be away from my family, it’s so incredibly special to be spending it with the love of my life and his (my new) family.  

All of that said, with it being Christmas morn, I fully expected to sleep late today, as being in a house with three grown men (Yes, I am the only girl here. Pray for me.) doesn’t quite lend itself to an early Christmas celebration. But my body just WOKE UP. While it’s possible that it’s still just adjusting to the time difference (it’s nearly 9:30 back home), I know it’s more than that. I thought this morning about how sad I was feeling to be apart from my family, but how happy I was to have my husband this year. It reminded me of how Jesus takes all of our sadness and turns it into pure, unadulterated JOY. He takes our broken hearts and makes them whole again. He takes our fears and turns them into a boldness to withstand any opposition. And for absolutely no other reason than that He just loves us. SO MUCH. Yes, I’m sitting here crying like such a girl as I write this.

I am so overwhelmed by the love the Lord has for us, by the healing and restoration He brings to our weary souls, and by the fact the He came down to this unbelievably frightening world AS ONE OF US, so that He could save us. We are nothing but lost without that special day so many years ago. My heart is so grateful.

So this morning, for those of you whose homes are filled with warmth, love and laughter as well as those of you who may feel forgotten, alone or unworthy, remember the unconditional, undying love that the Father has for us and for the undeniable HOPE He has given us through Jesus. We have so much hope today! I can’t get over it. The tears are just flowing.

So from my heart to yours, I wish you and yours the Merriest Christmas!

But the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid! Listen carefully, for I proclaim to you good news that brings great joy to all the people: Today your Savior is born in the city of David. He is Christ, the King!” –Luke 2:10,11

One thought on “The Merriest Christmas

Leave a Reply

