When She Speaks


When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly.

-Proverbs 31:26 MSG

Oh, I love words. While others prefer to express themselves through art, music, or any other sort of creative outpouring, my favorite remains through words. Though our most basic and obvious form of communication, words carry so much. James 5:5 says “A word out of your mouth may seem of no account, but it can accomplish nearly anything-or destroy it!” So much truth in that little nugget of scripture.

Words are so robust; so grand! Talking (or scrawling) and talking fast definitely holds a firm rank in my top ten favorite things…ever. Once I get going, it’s difficult to stop, short of stuffing my average sized foot into my abnormally large mouth. And yet, I’ve been referred to as a wordsmith. (the fact that I call myself that is of little importance)

I currently work full time as a bank teller at a local credit union in my home city, which, as you can imagine, doesn’t provide much creative outlet for me and my overactive imagination. So, along with culinary endeavors (my other creative passion), I have decided to resource myself with this blog. Side note: I’m not positive that it’s perfectly acceptable to use “resource” as a verb, but it’s my blog, and I’ll tweak whatever grammatical rules I please.

Generally speaking, I’ve always considered blogs to be a string of thoughts and opinions based around one particular subject or topic. But after running the idea of my own blog past my media and tech savvy husband, he helped me realize that what I desired to write was more of a journal. I suppose I had never thought of a blog and a journal as interchanegable. In my mind, a blog is extremely public, while a journal holds tightly private thoughts, emotions and soulful treasures. Then again, as a young pre-teen, when I documented my life in my “private” journal, I secretly hoped (truly expected) it to be published for the world to discover upon my demise. Not a dramatic bone in my body, can you tell?

Anyhow, after some gentle persuasion and encouragement from my darling husband, I decided to launch my musings as a blog and share them with the interwebs. It isn’t likely that these posts will be “themed”, or based around one specific topic; instead, outbursts of verbosity, emotion, insecurities, life pursuits, marriage, friendships, faith, recipes, fears, lame jokes and sarcasm.

But much more importantly than using this as a creative outlet for myself, my deepest hope is that this blournal (blog journal, I just invented a new word! Hey-yeah!) will somewhere, somehow, someday bring some form of encouragement, joy, hope, or even just the sense that you’re not the only one dealing with your dealings, to anyone. Or everyone.

2 thoughts on “When She Speaks

Leave a Reply

